Resident Wellness

Dedicated to helping you keep a healthy balance in your life. You spend much of your time helping your patients, it's important to make sure you take the time to stay healthy.

EMOTIONAL

building your inner strength

Residency is a uniquely trying moment in the professional life of a young doctor. You will be tested intellectually, emotionally and spiritually. While challenging, this time can serve to build a great reservoir of character, compassion and altruism. We have established a course of large and small group didactics to give our residents a set of tools they can use to bolster their emotional resilience and improve their patient relationships.

FINANCIAL

building your portfolio

You will transition from full-time student to full-time employee in residency. Many will, for the first time, receive a salary, purchase a home, and begin servicing student loan debt. As you progress through training you will be offered your first contracts. We offer a Financial Literacy Lecture series that will help you prepare for your first professional job. Student debt, contract negotiation, and other topics will help prepare you for the future.

INTELLECTUAL

building your knowledge

We are devoted to training the next generation of leaders and scholars in medicine. Whether you dream of primary or subspecialty care, a career in private or academic medicine, our program is dedicated to help our residents achieve their goals. Through our Mentors in Medicine program we provide established mentorship with high-impact physicians in fields of interest. Our modular curriculum is uniquely customizable through unique elective experiences and various tracks. Lastly, our residents are given the opportunity to attend a series of professional development lectureships on topics such as preparing resumes, communication skills, and effective power point presentation skills.

PHYSICAL

building your health

Residency is a time consuming endeavor. The hours are long, and tasks require mental diligence. We know these demands can make it difficult for you to make time for exercise or recreation. We have established a lectureship to help our residents manage sleep and fatigue. We have also partnered with the on-campus gym in order to facilitate access that provides convenient and accessible membership at a discounted price. There are also opportunities to join various intramural team sports, such as sand volleyball and kickball, with your colleagues.

building a community

SOCIAL

For you to succeed, you must have both world-class clinical training and a culture that supports collegiality and teamwork. In our efforts to achieve this, the residency program in conjunction with Balance in Medicine sponsor multiple social events throughout the year. They include an intern welcome party, the holiday party, spring picnic, and many others!

Committee Members

The committee is comprised of faculty, chief residents and housestaff representatives in the Department of Internal Medicine. Our goal is to organize events throughout the year that will focus on improving your wellness.

Faculty

Rakhee Bhayani, MD

Director/Committee Chair

bhayanir@wustl.edu

 

Carol Faulk, MD

Co-Director

cfaulk@wustl.edu

 

Geoffrey Cislo, MD

gcislo@wustl.edu

 

Emily Fondahn, MD

efondahn@wustl.edu

 

Kenneth Ludmerer, MD

kludmere@wustl.edu

Megan Wren, MD

mwren@wustl.edu

 

Scott Goldsmith, MD

goldsm.s@wustl.edu

 

Thomas Ciesielski, MD

t.ciesielski@wustl.edu

 

Chief Residents

Amit Bery, MD

amit.bery@wustl.edu

 

Jacqueline Chen, MD

j.chen@wustl.edu

 

 

Raymond Fohtung, MD

rfohtung@wustl.edu

 

Catherine McCarthy, MD, PhD

mccarthycj@wustl.edu

 

Niall Prendergast, MD

prendergastn@wustl.edu

 

Josh Saef, MD

jsaef@wustl.edu

 

PGY-3 Residents

Alonso Huedebert, MD

a.heudeb@wustl.edu

 

Vinaya Mulkareddy, MD

vmulkare@wustl.edu

Jonas Noe, MD

jnoe@wustl.edu

 

Stephanie Velloze, MD

vellozestephaniem@wustl.edu

 

PGY-2 Residents

Justin Chen, MD

justin.chen@wustl.edu

 

Jaspur Min, MD

jjmin@wustl.edu

 

Anthony Dao, MD

a.dao@wustl.edu

PGY-1 Residents

Natalie Baumann

baumann@wustl.edu

 

Gretchen Evans

gcevans@wustl.edu

 

Stephen Fuest

stephen.fuest@wustl.edu

 

Kai Johnson

kai.johnson@wustl.edu

 

Basia Michalski

basiamichalski@wustl.edu

Coordinator

Kirsten Jones

k.jones@wustl.edu

 

Past Committee Members

Washington University School of Medicine

Division of Medical Education

Campus Box 8121

660 S. Euclid Ave., St. Louis, MO 63110

p: (314) 362-8065    f: (314) 747-1080

wuintmed@dom.wustl.edu